Home

I belong here,

yet I don’t.

This land is mine,

but it’s not.

I was born and bred

in this place I call my home.

This earth is my earth,

the rivers, my blood.

My family is from here,

they have worked this land,and now rest in it.

It’s a deep bond with the land,

one that will not break.

I belong here,

yet I don’t.

This land is mine,

but it’s not.

I’ve wandered from here,

living far away from my home land,

an ocean away.

Even now I plan

to leave my ancestral home,

the place they’re buried.

It is so easy

to leave this horrible place,

and not shed a tear.

I belong here,

yet I don’t.

This land is mine,

but it’s not.

Parting is easy,

and my return will be hard.

This place clings to me,

like cloying perfume.

I can see the whole wide world,

but this is my land.

I’m not like the others,

who will call this place their home.

I have never been.

I belong here,

yet I don’t.

This land is mine,

but it’s not.

It’s a small town here,

everyone knows each other.

But I am unknown.

High school and football,

District loyalties and beer,

these shape the culture.

I am a stranger

to this old fashioned culture.

We’re frozen in time.

I belong here,

yet I don’t.

This land is mine,

but it’s not.

This place is my home,

this place I claim as my own.

I’m proud of this land,

but also ashamed.

I doubt it will ever change,

this place I call home.

I may leave it here,

but I can always come back,

and nothing will change.

~1/6/2016~

Leave a Reply

