What I Wish I Could Say

I love you, even now,

but I won’t be staying,

not by your side, darling.

It is now time to move on.

It’s now time to be free.

It’s your turn to chase me.

I’ve been here for all these years.

I’ve been faithful to the end.

If there’s one thing I did wrong

I didn’t love you enough,

but I can’t change the past

and time is moving so fast.

For now it’s best we part,

go our separate ways.

We’ve both got to grow up.

I just want you to know,

my arms will be open,

now and always for you.

I’ve been here for all these years.

I’ve been faithful to the end.

If there’s one thing I did wrong,

I didn’t love you enough,

but I can’t change the past,

and time is moving so fast.

Will you tell me something?

Tell me what you’re thinking,

and tell me why you are.

Just be honest with me.

That’s all I ask of you.

Get it in the open.

I’ve been here for all these years.

I’ve been faithful to the end.

If there’s one thing I did wrong,

I didn’t love you enough,

but I can’t change the past

and time is moving so fast.

I’m done laying the blame,

I’m done playing your games.

I wanted you to know,

it’s now time to move on,

it’s now time to be free

it’s your turn to chase me.

I’ve been here for all these years,

I’ve been faithful to the end.

Will you notice when I’m gone?

Did I love you enough?

I know I can’t change the past,

now time is moving too fast.

~July, 2011~

Leave a Reply

