I’m Done

All that I wanted

was to know that you did care.

All that I needed

was to know that you were there.

Now I am haunted

by the mem’ry of that stare.

Do you even care?

I’m so lost and alone,

but one thing that I’ve known-

that I’m done chasing you.

It’s time for something new.

One day I’ll grow up

(what will you do with your life?)

I drink from this cup

(do you drink the pain of life?)

No lies holding up,

keeping me from doing so,

and you aren’t that low.

Now i’m walking away,

no one making me stay.

You have no hold on me.

The ball’s in your court.

It’s not my move anymore

I can’t be that sort.

I won’t play pretend some more,

we all have a part,

and I’m done messing around,

’cause I’ve hit the ground.

~July, 2011~

Leave a Reply

