Cleanse Me

Pride of the eyes,
lust of the flesh-
a battle that humans alone
can never win.
~~~~~
God, the overcomer,
God, the Savior,
Kill this covetous monster.
Beat him down.
~~~~~
God, the forgiver,
God, the true lover,
Shut my eyes,
show me true love,
In your arms
~~~~~
God, the light of the world,
God, the cleanser,
clean my heart
purge it of all that isn’t of you.
~~~~~
God, my God,
I can never win this war
without you, I stand no chance.
Come down and cleanse me, God
Show me truth, joy and love.
~~~~~
‘God, help me,’ I cry.
‘Save me, take me,
mould me, love me.’
~~~~~
God, I need you
I have no chance without you.
Leave a Reply

